margit sandemo jääkansan tarina

By | 6 tammikuun, 2024

The Ice People Story by Margit Sandemo

The Ice People Story by Margit Sandemo

For over five decades, Margit Sandemo captivated readers with her captivating Ice People series. Known as Jääkansan tarina in Finnish, the saga is a compelling blend of romance, fantasy, and adventure set in the breathtaking landscapes of Nordic countries.

First published in the 1980s, The Ice People series follows the lives of immortal characters who are cursed to live forever. With over 47 books in the series, Sandemo weaves a rich tapestry of love, betrayal, and redemption against the backdrop of historical events.

The Storyline

The saga begins with the love story of Silja and Tengel, whose passionate yet ill-fated romance sets the stage for the centuries-long journey of their descendants. The books seamlessly blend Nordic folklore and history, taking readers on a mesmerizing journey through time.

From the Viking age to the modern era, the characters grapple with their immortality and the consequences of their choices. The series delves into themes of destiny, reincarnation, and the power of love, making it a timeless and universal story that resonates with readers of all ages.

Margit Sandemo: A Literary Icon

Born in Norway in 1924, Margit Sandemo’s writing career began in the 1950s. However, it was the Ice People series that catapulted her to international fame. Her vivid storytelling and intricate character development have earned her a dedicated global fan base.

Despite facing initial rejection from publishers, Sandemo persevered and self-published the first book in the series. Its unexpected success paved the way for a prolific writing career, with the Ice People series becoming her magnum opus.

Legacy and Impact

For many readers, the Ice People series is more than just a collection of fantasy novels. Its exploration of human emotions and the eternal struggle between good and evil has struck a chord with audiences across the world. The books have been translated into multiple languages and continue to enchant new generations of readers.


Margit Sandemo’s Jääkansan tarina is a testament to the enduring power of storytelling. Through her richly imagined world and unforgettable characters, she has left an indelible mark on the literary landscape. The Ice People series continues to be a source of inspiration and wonder, captivating readers with its timeless narrative.


1. What is the recommended reading order for the Ice People series?

While the books can be read out of order, it is recommended to start with the first book, The Legend of the Ice People, and follow the chronological sequence for the full experience.

2. Are there any film or TV adaptations of the Ice People series?

Yes, there have been several adaptations of the books for film and television, particularly in Scandinavian countries. These adaptations have brought the beloved characters and storylines to life on screen.

3. Where can I purchase the Ice People series in English?

The books are available for purchase online through major retailers and can also be found in select bookstores with a well-stocked foreign language section.


Sähköpostiosoitettasi ei julkaista. Pakolliset kentät on merkitty *